Workspaces & Sharing¶
In this article:
In ElasticBox, boxes let you deliver applications predictably. Sharing enables others to reuse your box configuration or work collaboratively to build better applications.
ElasticBox lets you share three types of assets: boxes, instances, and providers. You decide the level of access that works best when you share. Share with users or with workspaces and give them view or edit access. When you share with a workspace, all workspace members get equal access to an asset.
A workspace is a shared environment in which members of that workspace can access the same providers, boxes, and instances. When you first sign in to ElasticBox, you only have a personal workspace called My Workspace. After that, you can create your own workspaces or be invited to others’. Workspaces are contextual. When you switch workspaces you see a whole different group of instances, boxes, and providers, which belong only to that workspace.
Say you have a Jenkins box that integrates and stages code for testing. You want to collaborate with other Jenkins experts to make the box configuration highly usable. So you give their workspace edit access. Next, the QA team needs this box to deploy and run tests, so you give their workspace view access. Now the QA team can deploy Jenkins instances, but as you’d expect, they aren’t allowed to change the underlying Jenkins box definition.
Creating and Adding Members to Workspaces¶
To create a workspace click New Workspace.
This brings up the New Workspace dialog. Here you can upload an icon for the new workspace, give it a name, and add users. To add users just start to type the name of the user in the Members field. ElasticBox generates a list based on a match of the text.
When you add a user, they automatically get access to the workspace and any assets it contains, such as providers, boxes, and instances.
When you create a workspace, you are its owner and as such you can edit and manage it.
To edit a workspace you created, click the pencil icon for the workspace.
In this dialog, you can add and remove users as well as delete the workspace.